How long does it take to file for divorce in Michigan?
How long does it take to file for divorce in Michigan if I just moved here?
Q: I moved to Michigan about a month ago and would like to file here for divorce against my husband who is still in Iowa. How long do I have to live here before I can do that?
A: Michigan law requires that you reside in the State of Michigan for at least 180 days, and in the county in which you file for at least 10 days, both periods immediately preceding your filing. So, you will have to wait another 5 months to file in Michigan
This initial response to your question is for general purposes, only, and is based on the very limited information you have provided. Therefore, you should not rely on this general answer in any way as a reason for any action you may take or not take. This response applies to Michigan law only. It does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Such a relationship may only be established by the signing of a written retainer agreement, and the payment of the agreed upon retainer.
How long does it normally take to file for divorce in Michigan?
- The normal waiting period to file for a divorce in Michigan that does not involve minor children is 2 months.
- The typical waiting period to file for a divorce in Michigan that does involve minor children is 6 months.
The above is the typical waiting periods for filing for divorce in Michigan and it being an uncontested divorce.
After you file for divorce in Michigan, your court date is usually within 30 days of the end of that period. However, due in certain circumstances you may have to wait longer for your court date regardless of when you filed for divorce.
How long does it take to file for Divorce in Michigan if it is contested?
If you file for divorce in Michigan, and your spouse contests the filed divorce case then you may have to wait a great deal longer to get divorced.
If the divorce you filed for is contested, negotiations will ensue. These can be very difficult and time consuming.
On average, the length of time a contested divorce takes from the time it’s filed in Michigan to when it’s closed, is anywhere from nine months to a year.
When filing for divorce in Michigan, be sure to have a divorce attorney who has 30 years experience in divorce proceedings to ensure your divorce moves through the process as fast as possible.
What are the grounds for filing for divorce in Michigan?
There does not have to be a laundry list of items that constitute as “grounds for filing for divorce in Michigan.” This is because Michigan is a no-fault state when it comes to filing for divorce. The only ground necessary to file for divorce in Michigan is that there has been a deterioration of the marriage relationship, so much so that their appears to be no means, within reason, that the marriage can be preserved.
Fault comes into play when filing for divorce in Michigan, when you present your case to the judge. The reasons of “fault” for filing for divorce in Michigan can be the determining factors of property settlements, child custody, child support and spousal support.
When filing for divorce in the state of Michigan, it is always wise to have an experienced divorce attorney who can help guide you through the process as painlessly as possible, while protecting your best interests.